Skip to content

Ossipee Region

Chamber Travel Banner
Ossipee Region

Greater Ossipee Area

The Greater Ossipee Area, which consists of the towns Ossipee, Effingham, Madison, Sandwich, Tamworth and Freedom New Hampshire, is a gateway to the extraordinary. Here, you are free to push your own boundaries, and experience a way of life normality is far from privy too.


Town of Ossipee

Town of Ossipee is the county seat for Carroll County and the largest town in our six-town area.  It shares its name with the Ossipee Mountains, once a range of ancient volcanoes, which border on the West. Ossipee is made of many small villages scattered among the hills.  Shops filled with unusual crafts and antiques dot the country roads.  Good fishing abounds on Ossipee Lake and the rivers and streams that flow into it.  The adventurous can hike into the Ossipee Mountains and there are opportunities galore for swimming, boating, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing and snowmobiling.


Town of Effingham

Nestled conveniently between Ossipee Lake and Loon Lake, the town of Effingham is home to roughly 1,400 people (per 2015 town census). Incorporated in 1778 under the name “Leavittstown”, a tribute to the town’s founder, Captain John Leavitt, Effingham is rich in historical relevance, as well as quintessential New England Charm. The idyllic blend of history, nature, and small town serenity distinguish Effingham, and the welcoming community it’s home too.

Scroll To Top